How my Topic relates to my own Practice

I associate with the Punk Rock ideology: anti-corporation, against mainstream and non-conformity, pro free thought and expression, for equality and anti-authoritarianism.

My whole life differs from the ‘expected’ course of how things are ‘supposed’ to be done. I moved abroad when I was 18, changed career in my late 20’s and started studying in my 30’s. Because I am not a formally educated artist, I regularly use DIY techniques to create work or to figure out how to manipulate materials.  My methods are therefore often inexperienced but produce interesting results.  I work with many mediums and tend to alter my style according to my mood, thoughts and material that I am using.  I also do not have unlimited funding so have to use the materials available to me.

Investigation into this topic will definitely inspire me, it will give me a deeper understanding of the history of this subculture and the methods used.  I will be able to produce more in-depth work with better context.  Research into this topic is important to me because I am inspired not only by the work produced but also by the powerful emotions behind it.  I think the style is very powerful and I hope to create powerful work that speaks to people.

My Final Major Project, the other part of this module, is connected to my essay topic; I am creating a ‘DIY’ website for designers who is at the beginning stages of their careers and who do not have the financial means to buy fancy tools for projects.  I will list free resources in a structured manner and the style of the website will be Punk Rock
and opposition art/design inspired.

The following are examples of my work with some background and how they relate to my chosen topic:

Topic Dvelopment2-2Topic Dvelopment2-3

Image

Leave a Reply

